Gadgets and the mattarello

Very recently the “mattarello” was brought to my attention in a blog. Such a fantastic Italian word, and such a great instrument when making your own pasta. I admire people that can handle that stick properly, and when I see it being used I always stay to watch it a while. This youtube video shows one of these magicians.

The automatic rolling pin

I should admit that although I have tried a couple of times to roll and cut my own pasta using a rolling pin I have gone for the machine. A couple of years ago I treated myself to a pasta machine from Trebs. Since then I even more regularly make my own pasta using this machine. The advertisement says you can make pasta within 15 minutes, and that it has only to cook for 4 minutes. With me it always take a bit longer to make it, but I save this extra time by eating it more “al dente”.

Trebs pasta machine

The recipe that I always use is very simple:

  • 100 gr unbleached flour or semolina flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • a little salt

For the taste semolina flour is better, but since it has a coarser grain it is more difficult to work. To have just a taste of the semolina in your pasta you can mix the two types of flour. In that case use 1 part of semolina on 4 parts of unbleached flour.

Tonight I made tagliatelle with a special pesto. But that recipe I save for next time.

3 thoughts on “Gadgets and the mattarello

  1. Thank you again, and I fully agree. Although… some nice Italian desserts… this makes me think of a recipe I have to make this weekend! Have a great weekend

Leave a Reply

