Yes, I am new… Some light reading

Yes I am new! Not so new though on Internet, but fairly new on Social Media. I never made time for it, and yes, now I do.

In the last month and a half I have started on twitter and blogging. I had done some attempts before, but it really never came through. It is not that I do not see the main advantages of social media or the Internet. No, the contrary! I was raised by the Internet. As an educator having taught courses on many Internet related things like for example web design and informatics for newbies. I have been involved in this world since the 1990′s. But sharing my thoughts in about 500 words, or even shorter 140 characters…? Nah…

But then my website needed a refreshing turn – I wrote about this in an earlier blog – and I started reading about the new (and fun) things that one can do. And I got hooked I dare to confess now. So why this blog post? Well…

Lists

Over the last weeks I have gone through many short lists that people make on almost everything: the best tools, writing techniques for blogs, the “do’s and don’ts”. I have read, reviewed, collected and learned. And no, I will not give you my list, at least not yet. It is hard to learn about the netiquette when you do not get corrected. What are the best teachers online, what blogs are the must-reads’ when it comes to building up your audience? How do you establish your own brand online?

Last week I stumbled into a blog by Susanna Gebauer on inbound and outbound content marketing. And yes, I recognized myself in the way how she described herself. Oh yes, also I can do cold calling and I am quite able to do some good sales pitch. But if I have the choice I prefer to sell by providing content. This article was a feast of recognition.

There is so much to learn as a fresh starter in the Social Media universe. All new terminology: RT, DM, and FF. And I guess that all of my readers and audience know exactly what all these abbreviations mean. I found out what happened when you start your tweet with someones tweetname. And so on…

My quest continues

But I also have so many more questions. What are the best tools? Especially when you see that everyone is referring to the bigger and well established names. What is the best time to tweet about the new blog that you wrote, and is it accepted to tell that few followers that you start off with the fact that you blogged over and over? In web design I remember there was a weekly list of “light reading” by Max Design, and I always looked forward to the new list to appear. And yes, Max Design is still sending out this list by their website, and it still has great hints, tricks, and references on it!

So here my list of light reading for this weekend, based on things I read, found, and tweeted last week:

Enjoy, have a great weekend, and keep coming back for more!

Leave a Reply

